Simple Indian Recipes...
Delicious and healthy dishes that can be made even by first timers.

Indian New Year's Days

 Published 2017-Apr-14   Updated 2017-May-15
(புத்தாண்டு உணவுகள், Varusha Pirappu, Ugadi, Vishu)

In India, new year is celebrated on different dates in different regions. The new year according to the Gregorian calendar i.e. January 1st, is widely celebrated throughout India as in other countries. The Christians in India celebrate this as the beginning of the new year.

However majority of the population also celebrate the new year according to the lunar calender or solar calender. The New Year of the muslims, known as Hijri has dates that vary each year which I have explained below. The New Year celebrated in different states also have different dates but most of them fall in the month of April. The dates of celebration fall into few main categories.

  • The first set of states follow the solar calender and celebrate their new year when the Sidereal Equinox starts. This falls exactly on April 14th every year and is celebrated by Tamilnadu, Kerala, Odisha, West Bengal, Punjab and Assam.
  • The second category also follow the solar calender and starts on the tropical equinox that falls on March 21st. This day is celebrated as New Year by the Parsi community around the world.
  • The third new year celebrated by many North Indian states follow the lunar calender. Here the new year starts on the full moon day following the equinox and is known as Holi. This is celebrated by states like Bihar, Haryana, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chattisgarh, Uttarakhand and Jharkhand.
  • Another set of states also follow the lunar calender by the new year starts on the new moon day following the equinox. This is followed by states like Andhra Pradesh, Telengana, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Goa and Manipur.
  • The exceptions are Gujaratis who celebrate their new year on Diwali which falls on an autumm new moon day.

Below I have briefed about the new year celebrations from different regions and the specific food prepared during that day. I have listed them in alphabetical order.


This is celebrated in Haryana and Punjab.

Bestu Varas or Diwali

This is the new year celebrated in the state of Gujarat.

Bohag Bihu

This is celebrated in Assam.

Chaitti, Basoa

This is the celebration of the people of Himachal Pradesh.


This is the new year celebrated in Manipur.

Gudi Padwa

In Maharashtra and Telengana, Gudi Padwa is celebrated as the new year.


This is the Islamic new year.


Holi is celebrated in many North Indian states including Bihar, Chattisgarh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh and Uttarkhand.

Ka Bam Khana Shnong

This is celebrated in Meghalaya.


This is the new year celebration in Sikkim.


In Jammu and Kashmir new year is celebrated as Navreh.

Nowruz or Pateti

This is celebrated by Parsis.

Pana Sankranti

This is the new year celebrated in Odisha.

Pohela Boishakh

In Tripura and West Bengal, this is the new year celebrated.


Puthandu or varusha pirapu is celebrated by the Tamil people.

Neem Flower Rasam (Veepam Poo Rasam) Veppam Poo Rasam Potato Fry Potato Fry Paruppu Vada Paruppu Vada Semiya Payasam Semiya Payasam
See more...


This is the new year celebration in Arunachal Pradesh and parts of Assam.


This is celebrated in Andhra Pradesh, Telengana and Karnataka.


This new year celebration from God's own country, Kerala is quite famous.

Vishu Mango Pachadi Vishu Mango Pachadi Parippu Curry Parippu Curry Aviyal Aviyal Ada Pradhaman Ada Pradhaman
See more...

Related Articles

10 useful cooking tips. Useful Cooking Tips Cooking Methods Cooking Methods 10 Useful Pregnancy Tips. 10 Useful Pregnancy Tips Indian Monthly Shopping List Monthly Shopping List
See more...

Post a new comment

2000 Characters left
Your name will be displayed next to your comment.
Email will NOT be displayed publicly.
Cancel       Save Comment

Comments (0)

Post Comment

 Published by on and last updated on 2017-05-15.